Burn These Bones

Back on the Grind

Posted in backstage, life, review by burnthesebones on 08/22/2009

Look who’s back….the hiatus from blogging was necessary as I was feeling frazzled, uninspired and overwhelmed by the pressure of keeping up with the ~blogosphere~ (typing out that word makes me cringe so hard).

Especially at a time where everything supposedly new and exciting just seem like unecessary additions to an already over-saturated and homogeneous market. It seems like a lot of these new young brands pop up solely to target bloggers and their often young readerships with renditions of the same white-hot trends over and over again and have no viable plans for sustaining their labels. When people allow themselves to be pandered to so easily, why not? It might be too early to tell, but I expect we’ll be seeing a lot of unfortunate flame-outs in the not so distant future.

And the homogeneity doesn’t just end there. Everything is simply “sooo killer”, wicked, extreme and hardcore 2 the max these days, it seems. Nice Cramps and Misfits shirts, I wonder if much of the populace in question have ever listened to a single song of theirs before. (Personally, I’m not a fan and think it’s absolutely heinous to wear a shirt of a band that you know nothing about in earnest.) Dressing in a certain style is one thing, but you shouldn’t really have to change your whole persona to fit the look and get the “cred”.

Wondering if I should even bother trying to catch up and read the backlog posts? It might be impossible at this point, haha.

jil-sander-uniqlo-j-2009-fall-ad-campaign

57868796

( Vogue Paris via tFS)

On a more positive note, start saving your pennies for +J, Uniqlo’s line created in conjunction with Jil Sander.

It’s not just hype!! I was beyond fortunate enough to assist on the shoot for the campaign and scrutinize every single piece in the line. None of the images released so far do any justice to the collection!

There are THE best wool coats, razor sharp trousers, blazers, shirts, super soft cardigans and so on. The quality and fits are goooood. Personally, I’m looking to pick up one of the blazers and a coat, so you can be sure I’ll be there bright and early when it’s released in October, obligations be damned!

And the campaign is really beautiful too…wonder when the rest if it will come out?

Shot by David Sims and styled by Joe McKenna, longtime Jil Sander collaborator- he used to style her campaigns and shows when she still had ownership of her namesake brand, so he definitely knows what he’s doing. I was a bit dubious of the choice to use Isabeli Fontana for this at first, but it just shows how very little I know about such marketing matters… she looks great and really showcases how elegant and impeccable the clothes are.

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Dylan said, on 08/23/2009 at 10:25 AM

    lets hang out.
    text me soon.

  2. thegreyestghost said, on 08/23/2009 at 11:30 AM

    Glad you’re back! I couldn’t agree more about seeing the same shit over and over. I don’t consider myself a fashion expert by any means, but I’m starting to get bored looking at posts about 4 gazillion new clothing lines that all look the same. Or like something I wore when I dressed up as a “punk rocker” for Halloween in the 80’s.

    I think you’ve convinced me to check out the Uniqlo/Jil stuff. Between this post and our convo Friday, I’m intrigued. It wasn’t even really on my radar before, the images I’d seen of the line weren’t anything special. But If it’s really as good as you’re saying, I could use a nice new coat!

  3. Estelle said, on 08/23/2009 at 10:31 PM

    OH.. You already know how much I want this coat!

  4. the Six Six Sick Girls said, on 08/24/2009 at 12:16 AM

    Glad that you’re back—Couldn’t agree with you more about so many new designers. ..

    xxx,
    Tiffany

  5. amanda said, on 08/24/2009 at 10:16 PM

    agree with you on so many levels. bored with the standard fare most bloggers are obsessed with- try to turn my attention to the fresher on the eye stuff (even if it’s been done before). anyway, glad you’re back and can’t wait to see more of the jil sander for uniqlo!

  6. pink horrorshow said, on 09/03/2009 at 11:58 AM

    Ahhh! Which zara did you see it in? You’ve got me on a wild goose chase..

  7. Anthony said, on 09/03/2009 at 2:02 PM

    Wow that was so spot on. I have the same sentiments but I never would’ve been able to articulate it in that way.

  8. Anthony said, on 09/03/2009 at 2:03 PM

    I’m sure you’ve read this article.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2009/09/03/fashion/03OWENS.html?_r=1&ref=fashion

  9. PourPorter said, on 09/03/2009 at 2:18 PM

    So glad you commented, because I’m loving your blog.

  10. pink horrorshow said, on 09/04/2009 at 9:35 AM

    Ahh, I thought you meant you saw the leather jacket/vest combo, not just the vest, because on the Zara site there IS something like that but I found out they’re separate pieces lol. Thanks anyway because I got the vest and I love it!!

    Also I’m pretty excited for this Uniqlo collab, they haven’t had anything exciting in a long time..

  11. burnthesebones said, on 09/08/2009 at 3:52 AM

    Anthony- Thanks for the kind sentiments and the link! That article totally read my mind.

    Pink Horrorshow- Yay, no prob, i’m glad to help! Just got it as well and it’s a wonderful piece 🙂

    and thanks all for the supportive comments!

  12. […] and when I finally arrived, my heart sank- the line nearly went around the block. I had the advantage of knowing exactly what I wanted to get but I had a hard time finding them in the right color and size […]


Leave a comment