Burn These Bones

revelations in a rut

Posted in Uncategorized by burnthesebones on 04/01/2009

I never realized that maintaining this blog would come with a nagging sense of obligation.
That is to say, an overabundance of ideas and and not enough time/energy to expand on them or to reciprocate comments for others…it’s enough to make one feel guilty.

Obviously, the internet is a priceless resource for the transfer and sharing of ideas, what could be a better example of its communicative effects than the entire~fashion blogosphere~. Of course, it’s great that it allows people open their minds and discover new interests, references, and styles, etc etc but as a result, everything is moving at such a fast pace. Discovery, then assimilation of a certain style spreads like wildfire, then burns out just as quickly, so that there is no longevity to the creative. I don’t like the pressure of keeping up with it all, I want to stick with what I like and discover things organically, for the most part.

This may be elitist, but I’m just angry at all these people namedropping certain beloved designers of mine. There is a level of conceit to this…I just want them to stay pure, and remain under the radar from those who only want to jump on a celebrity trend bandwagon and otherwise have no appreciation for it. Whoever said that money can’t buy taste…is wrong.

After hearing her speak, I laughed and have to say…it’s a damn shame about Dree Hemingway. She seems like a nice girl, but is really not living up to the legacy of her famous name- what would she be without it?

Just wanted to get all this off my mind- after thinking about it quite a bit for the past few weeks, I am starting to question whether I really want to work in this industry (for a variety of reasons). The internships I’ve had, as must as I’ve enjoyed them, have only led to deductions from a list of careers of possible interest. Law school looks to be an increasingly promising option..

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. matt said, on 04/02/2009 at 2:34 AM

    This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

  2. sarah said, on 04/04/2009 at 12:54 PM

    fashion sux, get out while you can

    or stay and we can be quietly judgmental together

  3. sharon said, on 04/04/2009 at 1:17 PM

    it’s a crappy industry really…but if you love it enough…

    i agree about the name-dropping…and it’s not just the small labels either. everything is ‘balmain-esque’ or inspired by alex wang. ridiculous.

    but you’re a great blogger and it’d be tragic if you stopped. just sayin.

  4. burnthesebones said, on 04/06/2009 at 5:57 PM

    Sarah- let us stick to it and see where we are in a few years..

    Sharon- it really is a love/hate thing for me. Thank you for your kind comments!

  5. modelizer said, on 04/06/2009 at 6:14 PM

    Let’s all judge fashion together.

    Honestly the people who are so “in love” with it, don’t seem to make it far. It’s the smart people that can can critic it that seem to stay in the longest. It’s healthy to love and hate it, from personal experience.

    I’m so sick of this deconstructed homeless chic thing, it’s rather sick. I was wearing my spandx biker shorts from 7th grade volleyball the other day during my walk [they are gym wear after all] and I overheard two girls discussing how they loved my look and how I was beating all the future wang copycats to the punch. Oh UES high school kids.

    oh and re: to diesel, yeah lately their windows make me want to give them a chance [perhaps its becoming less euro trash after all?] but that requires dealing with the current euro trash inside of the stores.

  6. Michal said, on 06/21/2009 at 2:52 PM

    totally identifying here (especially wanting to discover things organically. took the words out of my mouth). really intelligent & touching writing, on (what i think is) a very complicated subject.


Leave a Reply

