Burn These Bones

The Long Road Home

Posted in life by burnthesebones on 04/07/2010

Hi all…

Sorry for not updating- I haven’t dropped off the face of the earth. I moved from New York to Shanghai for study abroad.

It’s been pretty crazy indeed…starting a new life in China takes some getting used to, and I’m not sure I’m quite there yet. I definitely suffered from culture shock the first few weeks. Which manifested itself not only emotionally, but physically. (I was sick and bedridden for a whole month!)

I feel very behind on fashion- most blog hosting sites (Blogspot, WordPress, etc.) are banned in China, which makes it a pain and at times impossible to keep up with it all. At the same time, this restriction has been quite liberating.

For once, I feel truly liberated from socially-driven aesthetic obligations, of the nagging urge to post about stuff only because I’ll fall behind if I can’t keep up with what’s new. It’s funny what a change of location can accomplish..

I was worried about feeling uninspired and there being a lack of cool stuff to write about in Shanghai but I just might be proved wrong.

Coming up:

-Shanghai is hosting the “Swedish Fashion – Exploring a New Identity” exhibit this spring, featuring Ann-Sofie Back, Burfitt, Fifth Avenue Shoe Repair and other favorites. I will attend and report back!

-There are tons of wholesale fashion markets here and beyond the obvious fake designer bags, I’ve spotted fake Vivienne Westwood, Ann Demeulemeester, Margiela, Limi Feu, Yohji, etc. It’s hilarious and I must admit I have been tempted…will try to take some stealth snaps.

-As for the real stuff, I’ve checked out the very well curated Hong Kong based I.T. (so much Fall Comme!) and the Joyce Warehouse outlet where I spotted Lanvin neon leopard print purses and bejeweled necklaces, killer Rick Owens heels and fin wedges and slinky RO tops, crystal encrusted Ann Demeulemeester, gigantic Givenchy Nightingale totes, and racks of Dries Van Noten (including those amazing beaded sandals) Number (N)ine’s last collection, and many other to-die-for pieces, all marked down. Sadly, even with the discounts, I haven’t broken down and indulged. Taxes on luxury import items in China are ridiculously high.

-I’ve been pretty good, and really haven’t bought anything worth noting. Trying to be responsible and save funds for the ultimate shopping city…Tokyo! I’m going there in July, and already have a huge list of spots to hit up. I’ll post about that next time.

Hang in there, dear readers- I truly appreciate all those who take the time to visit and read this blog!

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. thegreyestghost said, on 04/08/2010 at 12:03 AM

    So glad you’re enjoying yourself in China! Jealous of all the amazing shopping you’re going to get to do in Tokyo. If I ever make it there I’ll have to seek your advice on where to go!
    You’re not missing much in NYC. The weather is crazy (90 today!!) and everything else is business as usual : )

  2. the Six Six Sick Girls said, on 04/11/2010 at 11:10 PM

    OH man, I’m sorry to hear that you were sick, but I’m sure it’s amazing there. Even if there aren’t any fashion blogs. Have an amazing time, I can’t wait to see the pictures!!!
    xx
    Tiffany

  3. amanda said, on 04/14/2010 at 6:48 PM

    the shopping sounds bananas… can’t wait to hear more from you!

  4. THE DIVINITUS said, on 04/16/2010 at 8:48 PM

    good to c u back…

  5. Bee said, on 05/31/2010 at 8:41 PM

    This sounds awesome..I hope you post more snaps and enjoy your time there and good to see the blog running again


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

