Burn These Bones

treble in trouble

Posted in backstage, life by burnthesebones on 09/09/2009

As fashion week approaches, it becomes critical time for the many bloggers, who put their new-found determination of legitimacy and industry relevance to the test. Looking forwards to seeing your coverage of this hectic time!

Especially since I won’t be able to extensively cover the madness on here. And I won’t even have time to look at the collections until it’s all over.

I’ve already been helping out with the production efforts of several highly anticipated events or the past few weeks. Going straight from class to the office everyday with little time or energy for anything else, so this week will be chaotic/stressful x 100 and my most highly anticipated event will be a good night’s sleep.

Will be heading “underground” while others enjoy themselves observe the hustle and bustle of it all from a spectator’s point of view…I’m envious of this perspective, which I haven’t really experienced yet- I’ve always worked behind the scenes and can’t seem to break away from that. Sometimes I really have a crisis and ask, “What am I doing with my life and why should I give the slightest modicum of concern for these smug, self-entitled people?” and “I’d rather be dead than here!” But in the end, it can be quite fulfilling to proudly look back to something you worked hard on and put so much time and energy into.

rhiokz2wRmtmi793HXQpTMpho1_500

Tagged with: ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Allie said, on 09/09/2009 at 11:07 PM

    Can’t wait to read about it :)

    I’m a fan or your blog, maybe you could check mine out? missmaterialist.blogspot.com

    -Allie!

  2. Estelle said, on 09/10/2009 at 7:29 AM

    I totally understand how you feel. I’ve worked on pretty big shows in the past, Chanel, Lacroix, Gaultier and so on, and it’s like all you have time to think about is “I can’t fuck this up, it needs to be perfect, I need to be quick and efficient” and you stress out and work and it’s gone.. and people are like “I can’t believe you worked there, but really they probably have seen it better on television :) one day, hopefully we will be watching!

  3. the Six Six Sick Girls said, on 09/10/2009 at 3:12 PM

    I totally know how you feel. People who spectate never really understand how much work goes into putting these shows up, and how incredibly UN-glamorous organizing/working any of these events are. I can’t wait till it’s all over. I hope you’ll still make it out on Tuesday, if you aren’t too exhausted…

    xxx
    Tiffany

  4. burnthesebones said, on 09/10/2009 at 11:20 PM

    Estelle- Absolutely the truth! I’m always hesitant when friends ask if they can help out with shows and events…don’t want them to hate me upon finding out that it’s pretty close to slave labor at times.

    Tiffany- So glad you understand..I was stuck at a venue at 2am last night elbows-deep in spilled beer and picking up cigarette butts after an event…can’t wait for it to be over either!

  5. glenda said, on 09/15/2009 at 4:57 PM

    girl, you are such a busy bee. i’m excited for your updates!

  6. brainz said, on 09/20/2009 at 11:52 PM

    oh GOWD I know exactly how you all feel!!!!! I have been slaving my butt off and the days just don’t really end. I suggest we all have post fashion week bitchfest coffee. who’s in..that is, once time is EVEN mildly p r e s e n t

    DooooooM


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

